10 Things I Can See From Here Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 9, Grade 10, Grade 11, Grade 12

This book's genre:

Realistic Fiction

This book is about:

LGBT, Mental Illness

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

10 Things I Can See From Here

Written by:

Carrie Mac

Published:

February 28, 2017

Publisher:

Knopf Books for Young Readers

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image Kirkus Reviews

Summary

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

 

Think positive.

Don’t worry; be happy.

Keep calm and carry on.

 

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

 

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?





"With Maeve, Mac delivers a character who's heartwarmingly real and sympathetic, and her story provides a much needed mirror for anxious queer girls everywhere."—Kirkus, Starred review



"This is a good companion book for other anxiety-riddled stories, such as The Shattering by Karen Healey, and Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella."—Booklist



"Mac is good at showing how a dread-filled mind works... [An] affecting story.''—Publishers Weekly

Editorial Reviews

The following links are to reviews of this book on review journal websites.

Kirkus

Publishers WeeklY

Booklist  (Booklist provides free access to some, but not all reviews.  A subscription is required for complete access.)

Add new comment