The Best Man Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 4, Grade 5, Grade 6, Grade 7

This is a:

Superstar Book

This book's genre:

Realistic Fiction

This book is about:

Family, Friendship, LGBT, School

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

The Best Man

Written by:

Richard Peck

Published:

September 20, 2016

Publisher:

Dial Books

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image School Library Journal

Star Image Booklist

Star Image Kirkus Reviews

Star Image Publishers Weekly

Star ImageHorn Book

Summary

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos

Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.

But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.

In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

Editorial Reviews

The following links are to reviews of this book on review journal websites.

School Library Journal

Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Horn Book

 

Add new comment