The Dragon's Gate Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 3, Grade 4, Grade 5, Grade 6

This book's genre:

Fantasy, Historical, Action & Adventure

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

The Dragon's Gate (Chronicles of the Black Tulip Book 2)

Written by:

Barry Wolverton

Illustrated By:

Dave Stevenson

Published:

November 1, 2016

Publisher:

Walden Pond Press

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image Kirkus Reviews

Summary

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery—this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.

Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon’s Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.

Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China’s first emperor—the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.

Editorial Reviews

The following links are to reviews of this book on review journal websites.

Kirkus

Booklist  (Booklist provides free access to some, but not all reviews.  A subscription is required for complete access.)

Add new comment