Leave Me Alone Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Preschool, Kindergarten, Grade 1, Grade 2

This book is about:

Family, Humor

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

Leave Me Alone

Written by:

Vera Brosgol

Published:

September 13, 2016

Publisher:

Roaring Brook Press

Awards:

Caldecott Honor

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image Publishers Weekly

Star Image School Library Journal

Summary

An epic tale about one grandmother, a giant sack of yarn, and her ultimate quest to finish her knitting.

One day, a grandmother shouts, "LEAVE ME ALONE!" and leaves her tiny home and her very big family to journey to the moon and beyond to find peace and quiet to finish her knitting. Along the way, she encounters ravenous bears, obnoxious goats, and even hordes of aliens! But nothing stops grandma from accomplishing her goal―knitting sweaters for her many grandchildren to keep them warm and toasty for the coming winter.

This slyly clever and unexpectedly funny modern folktale by Vera Brosgol is perfect for fans of Extra Yarn and is certain to warm even the coldest of hearts.

Editorial Reviews

The following links are to reviews of this book on review journal websites.

School Library Journal

Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Add new comment