Little Dee and The Penguin Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 3, Grade 4, Grade 5, Grade 6

reading level:

Grade 2

This book is about:

Animals, Friendship, Humor

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

Little Dee and the Penguin

Written by:

Christopher Baldwin

Published:

April 5, 2016

Publisher:

Dial Books

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image School Library Journal

Star Image Kirkus Reviews

Approximate reading level:

Grade 2

**Note:  For more info about beginning reader levels, including the levels of individual books and finding a child's reading level, see THE LEXILE WEBSITE

Summary

Graphic novel fans will love this hilarious animal adventure by webcomic creator Christopher Baldwin—perfect for readers of Dan Santat’s Sidekicks, Ben Hatke’s Zita the Spacegirl, and Berkeley Breathed’s Bloom County

When Little Dee meets a motley crew of animals deep in the forest, she knows she’s found the perfect set of new friends. Between the bossy vulture, the slightly dim dog, the nurturing bear, and the happy-go-lucky penguin, this mismatched group of big personalities doesn’t always get along—but they’re a family.
 
And they’re on the run. A pair of hungry polar bears are after the penguin, and the rest of the team are determined to protect her. They’re not interested in adopting a tiny human. But Dee loves them—especially Ted the bear—and she won't let them go. Instead, she hops on their getaway plane and joins them on an around-the-world adventure.
 
This hilarious and heartwarming story is the perfect addition to any graphic novel reader’s library.

Editorial Reviews

**The following are links to reviews of this book on review magazine websites.  Many book review journals are also available online through libraries' Proquest database.**

School Library Journal

Kirkus

Booklist  (Booklist provides free access to some, but not all reviews.  A subscription is required for complete access.)

Add new comment