My Life with the Liars Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 5, Grade 6, Grade 7, Grade 8

This book's genre:

Realistic Fiction

This book is about:

Abuse, Girls & Women

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

My Life with the Liars

Written by:

Caela Carter

Published:

March 8, 2016

Publisher:

HarperCollins

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image Booklist

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kathryn Erskine’s Mockingbird and Holly Goldberg Sloan’s Counting by 7s, this is a stunningly unique and poignant story of one girl’s strength and courage as she decides who she is and what she will believe in.

Behind the white-washed walls of the Arizona compound, life was simple. Follow the rules, "live in the light," and all would be well. Zylynn was excited to turn thirteen and begin the work of bringing others into the light, to save them from the liars and the darkness of the outside world. But when she is taken away by a man who claims to be her father, Zylynn is confused, and desperate to return to her home.

Zylynn resists her new life—until she finds small comforts, like shampoo, the color pink, and strawberries. But as her thirteenth birthday approaches, Zylynn must make a difficult decision—to stay here with the enemy, or find her way back to the light. And neither may be what they seem.

Add new comment