Riverkeep Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 6, Grade 7, Grade 8, Grade 9

This book's genre:

Fantasy

This book is about:

Boys & Men

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

Riverkeep

Written by:

Martin Stewart

Published:

July 26, 2016

Publisher:

Viking Books for Young Readers

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image Kirkus Reviews

Star Image Publisher's Weekly

Star Image Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Summary

A stunning debut perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman!

The Danék is a wild, treacherous river, and the Fobisher family has tended it for generations—clearing it of ice and weed, making sure boats can get through, and fishing corpses from its bleak depths. Wulliam’s father, the current Riverkeep, is proud of this work. Wull dreads it. And in one week, when he comes of age, he will have to take over.
            Then the unthinkable happens. While recovering a drowned man, Wull’s father is pulled under—and when he emerges, he is no longer himself. A dark spirit possesses him, devouring him from the inside. In an instant, Wull is Riverkeep. And he must care for his father, too.
            When he hears that a cure for his father lurks in the belly of a great sea-dwelling beast known as the mormorach, he embarks on an epic journey down the river that his family has so long protected—but never explored. Along the way, he faces death in any number of ways, meets people and creatures touched by magic and madness and alchemy, and finds courage he never knew he possessed.
            Martin Stewart's debut novel is an astonishing blend of the literary, the comedic, and the emotionally resonant. In a sentence, it's The Wizard of Oz as told by Patrick Ness. It marks the beginning of a remarkable career.

Editorial Reviews

The following links are to reviews of this book on review journal websites.

Kirkus

Publisher's Weekly

Booklist  (Booklist provides free access to some, but not all reviews.  A subscription is required for complete access.)

Add new comment