This Savage Song Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 9, Grade 10, Grade 11, Grade 12

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity)

Written by:

Victoria Schwab

Published:

July 5, 2016

Publisher:

Greenwillow Books

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image Booklist

Summary

#1 New York Times Bestseller

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwaba young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Editorial Reviews

The following links are to reviews of this book on review journal websites.

Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Booklist  (Booklist provides free access to some, but not all reviews.  A subscription is required for complete access.)

Add new comment