When They Fade Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 9, Grade 10, Grade 11, Grade 12

This book's genre:

Thriller/Suspense

This book is about:

Bullying, Ghost Story, Paranormal

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

When They Fade

Written by:

Jeyn Roberts

Published:

September 13, 2016

Publisher:

Knopf Books for Young Readers

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image Kirkus Reviews

Summary

In the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Neal Schusterman's Everlost, or Jessica Warman'sBetween, comes a haunting tale of two girls—one dead, one alive.

TATUM is the only person at school who knew the truth about the affair her best friend, Claudette, has been having with Mr. Paracini, their married teacher. And at the time, confiding in an adult seemed like the right thing to do. But now, everyone in town has turned against Tatum, painting her as a liar and a rat. As the bullying from her classmates escalates, it seems that nowhere is safe for her anymore.
 
MOLLY was brutally murdered in the early 1970s, but there is no afterlife for her. Instead, she has found herself marooned with a crowd of other people who have also died tragically. Molly is able to fade back to earth for a few fleeting moments, and when she fades, she finds herself hitchhiking along a lonely road, telling the unsuspecting drivers who stop for her things about their future that only she can see.
 
One foggy night, Tatum sneaks out for a drive. The teenage hitchhiker she picks up doesn’t talk much, until she suddenly turns to Tatum and says: “You’re going to die. It will hurt and you’ll be alone. And no one will help you.”
 
And then she disappears. As the two girls’ stories converge, Tatum and Molly will discover that the only way to help themselves is to first save each other.

Editorial Reviews

The following links are to reviews of this book on review journal websites.

Kirkus

Add new comment