Where Things Come Back Book Cover

See Other Books Like This:

This book is for age/grade:

Grade 9, Grade 10, Grade 11, Grade 12

This book's genre:

Realistic Fiction

This book is about:

Family, Humor

Use Find a Book to find similar books, using filters such as age & topic.

Where Things Come Back

Written by:

John Corey Whaley

Published:

May 3, 2011

Publisher:

Atheneum Books for Young Readers

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Starred Reviews:

Star Image Publisher's Weekly

 

Summary

A quirky coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of John Green, David Levithan and Stephen Chbosky. Cullen Witter's fifteen-year-old brother Gabriel has suddenly and inexplicably disappeared. Angry and looking for answers, Cullen must navigate his way through a summer of finding and losing love while holding his fragile family together. Meanwhile a young missionary in Africa is searching for meaning wherever he can find it. As distant as they seem, these stories are thoughtfully woven together, before a surprising and harrowing climax. Complex but truly extraordinary, tinged with melancholy and regret, comedy and absurdity; Where Things Come Back is about finding wonder in the ordinary and the dream of second chances.

Add new comment