Grades 4 to 6 March 2016 Picks
Great Books for 4th Grade, 5th Grade, and 6th Grade March 2016 Picks

Intro

I’ve come to a point in my life when I rarely wish that I was a kid again. I don’t know, maybe I’m just so dang olde now that I’ve forgotten all the great things about being young. But today, for the first time in forever, I wished I was a little girl again. I would love to have been given these books when I was a kid; when I had the time and the right kind of mind to suck up every little detail of these stories that felt like they were meant just for me.

In the absence of wish-granting fairies, time travel, or magic lamps, I guess I’ll settle on enjoying them now. Mmmm… There are worse fates.

I am currently in 34th place in the holds line for Pax at my library. I have been waiting for months for this book to come out.  I was going to put it on last month’s 4th to 6th grade list, but weirdly, the first batch of reviews weren’t all that great.  I figured, aww, too bad… must be one of those books that looks amazing and critics love, but misses somehow with readers.  Buuuttt, it looks like those initial reviews didn’t speak for most people’s experience.  I am so excited to read this book.  It looks sweet and sad and wonderful.  You have to read it too.  Maybe with your kiddo.  It’ll be an experience that you both can look back on together with warm, fuzzy thoughts.

Oh and then there’s The Key to Extraordinary, The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs, When Mischief Came to Town, Maybe a Fox… Ack.  They all look so good!  I keep thinking that we are so lucky to have such talented writers and illustrators in our midst.  They work so hard, often not for a lot of pay, and hand us magic.  Thank you authors and illustrators!

Now go forth moms and dads, and pick up these books for your kids.  Their lives will be all the richer for it.  smiley

**This list was mentioned on Literary Musing Mondays and The Homeschool Nook.**

Chaotic Bliss Homeschooling

 

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs Book Cover
The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs
by Cylin Busby
illustrated by Gerald Kelley
published February 2, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image School Library Journal Star Image Booklist

For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas
 
Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the...READ MORE

Paper Wishes Book Cover
Paper Wishes
by Lois Sepahban
published January 5, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image School Library Journal Star Image Kirkus Reviews

Ten-year-old Manami did not realize how peaceful her family's life on Bainbridge Island was until the day it all changed. It's 1942, after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Manami and her family are Japanese American, which means that the government says they must leave their home by the sea...READ MORE

Pax Book Cover
Pax
by Sara Pennypacker
illustrated by Jon Klassen
published February 2, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image School Library Journal Star Image Booklist Star Image Kirkus Reviews Star Image Publishers Weekly

From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come.

Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit....READ MORE

The Key to Extraordinary Book Cover
The Key to Extraordinary
by Natalie Lloyd
published February 23, 2016

Everyone in Emma's family is special. Her ancestors include Revolutionary War spies, brilliant scientists, and famous musicians--every single one of which learned of their extraordinary destiny through a dream.

For Emma, her own dream can't come soon enough. Right before her mother died, Emma promised that she'd do whatever it...READ MORE

When Mischief Came to Town Book Cover
When Mischief Came to Town
by Katrina Nannestad
published January 5, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Booklist Star Image Kirkus Reviews Star Image Publishers Weekly

In the tradition of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES and PIPPI LONGSTOCKING comes a heart-warming novel about love, family, grief, joy and the power of laughter and imagination.
When Inge Maria arrives on the tiny island of Bornholm in Denmark to live with her grandmother, she's not sure what to...READ MORE

Maybe a Fox Book Cover
Maybe a Fox
by Kathi Appelt
illustrated by Alison McGhee
published March 8, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image School Library Journal Star Image Booklist Star Image Publishers Weekly

Worlds collide in a spectacular way when Newbery and National Book Award finalist Kathi Appelt and Pulitzer Prize nominee and #1 New York Times bestseller Alison McGhee team up to create a fantastical, heartbreaking, and gorgeous tale about two sisters, a fox cub, and what happens when one of the sisters disappears...READ MORE

Under Their Skin Book Cover
Under Their Skin
by Margaret Peterson Haddix
published January 5, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Booklist

From New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix comes the first book in a brand-new thrilling series about twins who are on a quest to discover the secrets being kept by their new family.

Nick and Eryn’s mom is getting remarried, and the twelve-year-old twins are skeptical when she tells them...READ MORE

Audacity Jones to the Rescue Book Cover
Audacity Jones to the Rescue (Audacity Jones #1)
by Kirby Larson
published January 26, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Booklist Star Image Publishers Weekly

Audacity Jones is an eleven-year-old orphan who aches for adventure, a challenge to break up the monotony of her life at Miss Maisie's School for Wayward Girls. Life as a wayward girl isn't so bad; Audie has the best of friends, a clever cat companion, and plenty of books to...READ MORE

Warren the 13th and The All-Seeing Eye: A Novel
by Tania del Rio
illustrated by Will Staehle
published November 24, 2015
Starred Reviews:
Star Image School Library Journal

Meet Warren the 13th. He’s the lone bellhop, valet, groundskeeper, and errand boy of his family’s ancient hotel. It’s a strange, shadowy mansion full of crooked corridors and mysterious riddles—and it just might be home to a magical treasure known as the All-Seeing Eye. But if Warren is going to...READ MORE

Soar Book Cover
Soar
by Joan Bauer
published January 5, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Booklist Star Image Kirkus Reviews

Newbery Honor–winner Joan Bauer's newest protagonist always sees the positive side of any situation—and readers will cheer him on!

Jeremiah is the world’s biggest baseball fan. He really loves baseball and he knows just about everything there is to know about his favorite sport. So when he’s told he can’t play baseball...READ MORE

Comments

I'm bookmarking this list! Such great suggestions; most of which I've never even heard of.

I'm so glad you found some new material! :D And yes! I've been really amazed by the awesome books that have been published in the last month or two. Can't wait to get my hands on some of these! (And share them with my kiddos, of course :) ).

This looks like a fun list! I've been curious to read Pax as well. And I just love the beautiful art on some of these covers!

Hi Carolyn! Yeess! Pax looks awesome. I've been waiting for a copy from my library for what feels like forever! I've been seeing a lot of speculation around the internet about Pax being a 2017 Newbery Medal contender.

Thanks for sharing this list! I have a couple of these out from the library right now, and am excited to get started with them!

Hi Beth! Nice! I'd love to hear what you think after you read the books. :D

The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs looks really interesting. Thanks for sharing.

Hi Aileen! Oh man, I totally agree. I love that The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs combines an animal story with a seafaring adventure. Apparently, there's a lot of emotional challenge and change along with the adventure side, which makes it even better.

Paper Wishes sounds like a book I would like. Play to the Angel is my favorite children's WWII book that I've discovered recently. I wonder if my son would like SOAR. He plays baseball. Thanks for sharing at the #LMMLinkup.

Hi Leslie! Yes! I've heard nothing, but outstanding things about Paper Wishes. I don't think you can go wrong there. I'm not familiar with Play to the Angel. I'll have to look into it. And I hope your baseball loving son would enjoy SOAR. At the library I worked out Joan Bauer's books had a steady following. Another positive? Professional reviewers had glowing reactions to SOAR, which isn't all that common amongst sports books. Good luck to you! :D

Add new comment

Share This Page

Hello there!

Hi!  I'm Sarah.  I'm a former librarian and mother of two -- a teen daughter and a preschooler son.  We love to play outdoors... and read.  :)

This site is all about discovering great books to share with kids and teens. ...Read more

Sarah's Photo

Let's Keep in Touch!

  • Find us on Facebook
  • Find us on Pinterest
  • Follow us on Twitter