Teen Picks May 2016
Best Books for Teens May 2016 Picks

Intro

It was really hard to narrow down this month’s picks for great teen books.  I sat staring at my notes for way too long, wishing I didn’t need to decide which to leave out.  There are just so many amazing new teen books out!  So, hope to see you next month my rectangular friends (err… whatever the 3-D version of a rectangle is). 

Here are Amazon links to especially solemn farewell for now books... Every Exquisite Thing, Flamecaster, the Darkest Corners.

My top pick of  the month is Printz Award winning (like the Newbery, only for teens) author John Corey Whaley’s new book, Highly Illogical Behavior.  The book’s main character suffers from agoraphobia, a mental illness that causes people to experience panic when leaving what they feel are safe places.  The main character, Solomon,  hasn’t left his house in three years.

Things begin to change for Solomon when Lisa knocks on his door.  Lisa is determined to get into a college with a reknowned psychology program.  She has a plan to secure her position in this college by helping Solomon to get outside, and to write an essay about the experience.  Highly Illogical behavior is about the quirks, the insecurities, and the truths that unfurl in a story of genuine friendship. 

I’m also super excited about Railhead!  It’s a sci-fi action-adventure where sentient trains speed passengers through the galaxy in a snap.  The main character, Zen is mainly concerned with the petty theft that supports his disabled mother, but he’s also enamored with trains.  A stranger offers Zen a job that could bring him a life he’s never even dreamed of.  All he has to do is steal a box, a little box, but this one is ancient and belongs to the emporer, which may just complicate things.  Railhead is brimming with imaginitive technology, otherworldly landscapes, and alien characters.

Because I’m a huge fan of teen fantasy, I’m really excited about The Crown’s Game.  It promises magical duels, romance, and solid world-building.  Sweet!

And speaking of sweet… I don’t think I’ll be able to resist New York Times bestselling Love & Gelato.  It’s the perfect blend of travel, light romance, and mystery for summertime.  Tucking this one in the beach tote!

 Seeing stars?  Professional book reviewers only award a star to exceptional books.  More than one star means experts from multiple organizations felt the book was outstanding. 

Highly Illogical Behavior Book Cover
Highly Illogical Behavior
by John Corey Whaley
published May 10, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image School Library Journal Star Image Kirkus Reviews Star Image Publishers Weekly

Teen and adult fans of All The Bright PlacesMe and Earl and the Dying Girland Everything, Everything will adore this quirky story of coming-of-age, coming out, friendship, love...and agoraphobia.

Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into...READ MORE

Draw the Line Book Cover
Draw the Line
by Laurent Linn
published May 17, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Booklist Star Image Kirkus Reviews Star Image Publishers Weekly

After a hate crime occurs in his small Texas town, Adrian Piper must discover his own power, decide how to use it, and know where to draw the line in this stunning debut novel exquisitely illustrated by the author.

Adrian Piper is used to blending into the background. He may...READ MORE

Love & Gelato Book Cover
Love & Gelato
by Jenna Evans Welch
published May 3, 2016

A summer in Italy turns into a road trip across Tuscany in this sweeping debut novel filled with romance, mystery, and adventure.

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her...READ MORE

The Crown's Game
The Crown's Game
by Evelyn Skye
published May 17, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Kirkus Reviews  

"Gorgeous and richly imagined."—Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series

"Teeming with hidden magic and fiery romance."—Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes

Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red QueenThe Crown’s Game is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia about...READ MORE

If I Was Your Girl
If I Was Your Girl
by Meredith Russo
published May 3, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Kirkus Reviews Star Image Publishers Weekly

A new kind of big-hearted novel about being seen for who you really are.

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like anyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret, and she’s determined not to get too close to...READ MORE

Tell Me Three Things Book Cover
Tell Me Three Things
by Julie Buxbaum
published April 5, 2016
Starred Reviews:
 Star ImagePublishers Weekly  

New York Times Bestseller

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?
 
Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like...READ MORE

Railhead Book Cover
Railhead
by Philip Reeve
published April 1, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image School Library Journal Star Image Kirkus Reviews Star Image Publisher's Weekly

The Great Network is an ancient web of routes and gates, where sentient trains can take you anywhere in the galaxy in the blink of an eye. Zen Starling is a nobody. A petty thief from the filthy streets of Thunder City who aimlessly rides the rails of the Network....READ MORE

Outrun the Moon Book Cover
Outrun the Moon
by Stacey Lee
published May 24, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Kirkus Reviews

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.
 
San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown, and an education at St....READ MORE

A Study in Charlotte Book Cover
A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes Novel)
by Brittany Cavallaro
published March 1, 2016
Starred Reviews:
Star Image Kirkus Reviews

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers...READ MORE

The Problem With Forever Book Cover
The Problem with Forever
by Jennifer L. Armentrout
published May 17, 2016

"Armentrout is consistently stellar, but this book blew me away, completely. Gripping from page one, I -- quite literally -- couldn't put it down until I'd reached the end, and when I did, Iwanted to be able to start all over again for the first time." New York Times Bestselling Authors Christina Lauren


...READ MORE

Add new comment

Share This Page

Hello there!

Hi!  I'm Sarah.  I'm a former librarian and mother of two -- a teen daughter and a preschooler son.  We love to play outdoors... and read.  :)

This site is all about discovering great books to share with kids and teens. ...Read more

Sarah's Photo

Let's Keep in Touch!

  • Find us on Facebook
  • Find us on Pinterest
  • Follow us on Twitter